Domestic Violence Bail Bonds in Laguna Niguel

Domestic Violence Bail Bonds is one of Southern California’s largest bail bond agencies. Our family-owned bail bond company has been helping our neighbors all over the state of California get loved ones out of jail since 1958.

We know that you might be facing a hard time looking for the best bail bonds choice for your situation. Look no more, this is the signal you’ve been looking for, and we know this isn’t an easy time for you. We will relieve the stress of picking between different bail bonds services, as it’s only adding to your burden.

  • No matter what the time of day or night, Domestic Violence Bail Bonds is here for you.  We are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 365 days a year. We never close.
  • You can be approved for up to a $500,000 bond within 15 minutes
  • We are where you need us to be. Most of our offices are located just minutes from the major jails such as the downtown LA County Jail, LA Men’s Central Jail, West Valley Detention Center, Riverside County Jails, Orange County Jails, and Lynwood Regional Jail.
  • Our knowledgeable and licensed bail bonds agents will come to your home, office, or jail at no extra cost.
  • We offer nationwide service for bail bonds so you can bail someone out regardless of where you are.

Rest assured that any of our highly capable agents will take their time in walking you step-by-step through the process of securing California bail bond, making the process as stress-free as possible.

The Bail Bond Process in Los Angeles For Domestic Violence 

When someone gets arrested in Laguna Niguel with a domestic violence charge, there will be a bail of some sort.

However, keep in mind that no bail bonds company can begin the bail bonds process until after the defendant has been arrested and booked, which can take anywhere from an hour to half a day depending on the size of the jail.

The bail bonds process goes like this:

  • The defendant gets arrested on a domestic violence charge.
  • The next morning, the defendant must appear before a judge who will go over their case, dictate a penalty, and set a bail amount if the penalty includes jail time.
  • The bail amount will depend on factors such as criminal history and the seriousness of the charge.
  • Loved ones might want to get the accused out of jail, but may not have enough money to post bail.
  • The family can contact a bail agency for help, which usually requires them to put down a percentage of the amount (sometimes 10%, but this can vary depending on the charges).
  • The person who is interested in bailing the defendant out (known as a co-signer or indemnitor) has the legal responsibility for the bail bond, and is also responsible for the defendant to appear in court.
  • Even if loved ones still don’t have enough money to put this percentage down, they can use a valuable item as  collateral—jewelry, car, property— while the rest is paid in cash.
  • After the bonds agency accepts the payment, they begin working on the indemnity agreement paperwork and contacting the jail where the accused got arrested in order to arrange their release.
  • A bail bondsman from the agency will take care of the rest, posting bail at the jail where the defendant got arrested, to later secure their release.
  • Please remember that although this process can be completed with ease, if everything’s done correctly, an agency cannot begin working until the defendant has been through the process of arrest and booking, which can take longer.

How much is bail for domestic violence charges in California?

For domestic cases in Laguna Niguel, there are different charges that help determine the severity of domestic violence. Domestic violence bail bonds are slightly different than an average bond because a restraining order may be included also.

The standard bail in a domestic violence case is $50,000. The cost for a Bail Bond is usually 10% of the amount ordered by the court.

Types of Domestic Violence Crimes

The domestic violence laws in California define “abuse” as:

“Physically hurting or trying to hurt someone, intentionally or recklessly; sexual assault; making someone reasonably afraid that they or someone else are about to be seriously hurt (like threats or promises to harm someone); or behavior like harassing, stalking, threatening, or hitting someone; disturbing someone’s peace; or destroying someone’s personal property.”

Whether the domestic violence charge in California is filed as a felony or a misdemeanor is determined by the prosecutor and based on how severe the harm done to the victim appears to be, whether a weapon was used or not, the criminal history of the accused, and if any aggravation was involved.

In certain cases, called wobblers, a prosecutor decides whether to charge a defendant with a misdemeanor or felony. Although there are more, here are the most commonly prosecuted cases of DV as defined by California law:

“Any person who willfully inflicts corporal injury resulting in a traumatic condition upon a victim described in subdivision (b) is guilty of a felony, and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four years, or in a county jail for not more than one year, or by a fine of up to six thousand dollars ($6,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment.”

“Any person who, under circumstances or conditions likely to produce great bodily harm or death, willfully causes or permits any child to suffer, or inflicts thereon unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering, or having the care or custody of any child, willfully causes or permits the person or health of that child to be injured, or willfully causes or permits that child to be placed in a situation where his or her person or health is endangered.”


“Any person who, under circumstances or conditions other than those likely to produce great bodily harm or death, willfully causes or permits any child to suffer, or inflicts thereon unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering, or having the care or custody of any child, willfully causes or permits the person or health of that child to be injured, or willfully causes or permits that child to be placed in a situation where his or her person or health may be endangered, is guilty of a misdemeanor.”

“Any person who willfully inflicts upon a child any cruel or inhuman corporal punishment or an injury resulting in a traumatic condition is guilty of a felony.”

“A person who knows or reasonably should know that a person is an elder or dependent adult and who, under circumstances or conditions likely to produce great bodily harm or death, willfully causes or permits any elder or dependent adult to suffer, or inflicts thereon unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering, or having the care or custody of any elder or dependent adult, willfully causes or permits the person or health of the elder or dependent adult to be injured, or willfully causes or permits the elder or dependent adult to be placed in a situation in which his or her person or health is endangered.”

“Any person who willfully threatens to commit a crime which will result in death or great bodily injury to another person, with the specific intent that the statement, made verbally, in writing, or by means of an electronic communication device, is to be taken as a threat, even if there is no intent of actually carrying it out, which, on its face and under the circumstances in which it is made, is so unequivocal, unconditional, immediate, and specific as to convey to the person threatened, a gravity of purpose and an immediate prospect of execution of the threat, and thereby causes that person reasonably to be in sustained fear for his or her own safety or for his or her immediate family’s safety.”

“False imprisonment is the unlawful violation of the personal liberty of another.”

Domestic Violence Penalties

Punishment for a domestic abuse felony can include, on top of jail time, paying restitution for hospital bills, several years of probation (Penal Code Section 1203.097 PC), and county jail. Additionally, courts in California are required to issue a protective order for the complainant from unlawful contact from the defendant, including violence, threats, stalking, harassment, residence exclusions, and more conditions, including a stay-away order (as defined by Penal Code Section 1203.097 PC).

For that reason, it is critical that a person charged with domestic assault, domestic battery, criminal threats or stalking have only a qualified domestic violence defense lawyer to handle the case from the earliest possible moment.

For more specific penalties under California Law, please visit the California Legislative Information website.

What are some examples of Domestic Violence?

There are many types of domestic violence, and each can manifest in several different ways as interpreted by a prosecutor and a judge when on trial.

This may include but is not limited to: Threatening to hurt or kill the victim or their children, family, pets, property, or reputation. It also includes controlling the family income and either not allowing the victim access to money or rigidly limiting their access to family funds.

There is also non-physical abuse, such as when abusers who use emotional or psychological abuse often throw in threats of physical violence or other repercussions if their spouse or cohabitant doesn’t do as they want.

How to Get Out Of Laguna Niguel Jail When Arrested for Domestic Violence

When someone is arrested in Laguna Niguel they are taken to the Orange County Jail and processed as an inmate. As part of this process, their fingerprints are taken and checked against a number of databases to determine their identity and if they have any outstanding warrants. A mugshot is also taken. The process of checking into the Orange County Jail can take several hours. After they have been checked in they are eligible to be bailed out of jail.

After jail time has been declared by the judge, a bail amount is set. This is the first chance an individual has to get out of jail after being arrested with domestic violence charges, and the ideal time to contact a Bail Bonds agency.

There are essentially three ways to post bail: through cash bail, through a bail bond (which is the most common way to post bail), and through a property bond, which means that you allow the court to place a lien on your property and if you fail to appear in court as instructed, the court is authorized to institute foreclosure proceedings against you.

Laguna Niguel Police Department
30111 Crown Valley Parkway,
Laguna Niguel, CA, 92677

Orange County Jail
13502 Musick,
Irvine, CA, 92618

441 Bauchet Street
Los Angeles, 90012
Watch Commander (213) 974-4916
Main Control (213) 974-4921

9500 Etiwanda Ave
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91739

Blythe Jail
(951) 955-4500


A – It doesn’t matter if it’s on the street, in the home, in the car, in an alleyway, heck, even in a hospital. If you are in an intimate relationship with them (marriage, relationship, family etc.), it is considered domestic abuse and will be treated as such in court.

A – The constitutional protections, as well as the Bail Reform Act (a federal statute), give a defendant the right to request lower bail when the amount initially set by the court is too high to pay. A defendant can request a hearing to seek a bail reduction.

A – Bail collateral is offered in place of or in addition to bail money in order to secure the release of the person who has been arrested. Consider it a form of credit or a loan to ensure that the person shows up in court. Collateral can come in many forms; it can be your house, jewelry or other assets of a certain given value.

A – There is not a simple answer for how long the bail process takes, it all depends on circumstances, such as what jail the defendant is in, what crime was committed, the amount of the bail, and the length of the court case. After the defendant is arrested, bail is typically set that day, however, if the arrest took place on a weekend or night, they will have to wait until the courts next business day to see a judge to get bail set.

A – Noncitizens should be aware that being arrested or detained for a domestic violence offense can trigger an automatic immigration hold. Whenever a noncitizen ends up in custody, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is notified and an immigration hold can be placed on the noncitizen which will prevent them from being released from custody. This hold tells the jail to not release the noncitizen even at the end of the noncitizen’s custody sentence. Instead, DHS will place the noncitizen in federal custody once the term of imprisonment is completed and removal proceedings will begin.

To Top